AMY GUTH AUTHENTIC EXPRESSION

vintagewoman

Amy Guth is a go-getter. She’s the kind of gal that doesn’t sit around and wait for things to happen; she makes them happen – just one of the many qualities I adore about her. A kind and genuine soul, a succulent author (seriously, read her novel, Three Fallen Women), a funny blogger and writer, lit fest founder, runner, and so much more. What a privilege to have a truly authentic dame visit Three Dames With A Clue.

Please welcome Dame Amy Guth! By the by, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, GUTHIEROO.

Your name, pseudonym, where you’re from and what your read is about?

My name is Amy Guth, always Amy Guth. Real name. I’m from all over. I’ve lived all over. I probably picked up something for each place. I’ve lived as far north as New York and north Boston, as far south as Atlanta and western North Carolina, as far west as Texas and northern New Mexico. I’ve lived in Chicago since 2001 and enjoy it here.

It’s been a bit since my novel, Three Fallen Women, was released, but since then I’ve joined So New, which published the book, as managing editor. Up next is American Soma by Savannah Schroll Guz. I’m excited to see it out into the world; the whole of the book is such a gorgeous, whispered hypothesis of a not-too-distant dystopian future, as told through a series of short stories, micro and macro, some beginning long ago, some beginning in present time, but all winding towards something shifting and wonderfully unsettling. Like I said, I’m excited for it.

It, American Soma, comes out right around Pilcrow Lit Fest, the annual small press and independent media festival which I founded here in Chicago. Last year we asked authors to disassemble their books and rebuild them into pieces of art which we auctioned of for the New Orleans Public Library. This year, we are working with the Young Chicago Authors organization and the same “Rebuilt Books” auction will benefit them. Also, Pilcrow will become a dual-location festival this year, with a second fall location to be announced shortly.

What does being a woman mean to you?

Well, having been female all my life, I can’t say I have anything to which I can compare the female experience other than… yeah, I got nothing. I was raised without a lot of gender role baggage– I saw both parents cook, both parents did yardwork, both parents used to tools in the garage. So I don’t think in terms of activities that are masculine or feminine as much as I think of thing as enjoyable or unenjoyable, joy-generating or life-sucking.

Have you, are you, or will you reinvent yourself and, of course, what does reinventing yourself mean to you?

I think we all change everyday, if we are living right. I have no desire to be in twenty years who I am today; to do that would mean I wasted two decades absorbing nothing.

PS: Pilcrow Lit Fest is a non-profit, donations are greatly appreciated. Chip-in here.

 

Leave a Reply

