KAREN ZIPDRIVE’S AUTHENTIC EXPRESSION

kickassbroad

Today, we are kicking off the My Authentic Expression online series, featuring some of the Web’s most prolific, dazzling, authentic, beautiful women. It is an honor to begin this series with a dame I happen to know and adore, Dame Karen Zipdrive. She blogs PulpFriction, if you haven’t read it, run. Well, after you’ve read her interview, of course. By the way, her candor took my breath away. Thank you, Zippy.

 

Tell me about you: Your name, pseudonym, where you’re from and what your read is about? KarenZipdrive, San Antonio.  

My Blog Pulp Friction is an amalgam of liberal politics, personal stuff, humor, living in Texas, and a little about being a non-traditional lesbian in a straight world.

 

What does being a woman mean to you?

It means being strong, opinionated, happy, powerful and successful. It means being gentle, yet forceful when I have to be. It means being filled with yin energy and willing to work with yang energy to create balance in the world, especially the corporate world.

It means I can call myself a girl, a chick, a dyke, a broad, a dame or a woman without apologies, because I am all those things.

 

Have you, are you, or will you reinvent yourself and, of course, what does reinventing yourself mean to you?

 I am in the process of reinventing myself. I’ve gone from being a corporate executive to managing partner of an interactive media company, where I am now a joint decision maker and go-to girl. In the process, I’ve been able to create a vision/mission for the company that stresses ethics, honesty, public service and positive outcomes for all stakeholders. I am also reinventing myself in terms of my dating/mating style. I am pickier now and I tend to keep my eyes wide open before jumping in. If they seem crazy, I’ve learned they probably are. And it’s not my job to save anyone, bail them out or be their hero. If they look like they have a lot of baggage, they probably do. I travel light and expect the same from lovers or partners. It’s very liberating. Basically, I know who I am and what I want now. Sure, I’m scared about diving off the cliff of starting a new business, but I trust myself and my business partners, and most of all I trust in my higher power to provide me with everything I need to succeed. To me, any reinvention that includes a strong spiritual consciousness is bound to work out.

 

How can you not love this woman?! Thanks again, my sweet.

9 responses to “KAREN ZIPDRIVE’S AUTHENTIC EXPRESSION

  1. Karen,

    Thanks so much for being our first interview.
    Your words/answers resonate with me and I am
    sure so many of us. This is our kickoff interview
    and I look so forward to many many more.
    Please keep in touch and hopefully we’ll see you
    in San Antonio!

  2. Thanks very much.
    I am always open to meeting Bloggers when they visit the San Antonio/Austin area. It’s really great to put a face and a voice to people in the Bloggy community.
    Mi casa es su casa, y’all.

  3. threedameswithaclue

    Your description of what it means to be a woman– Z, I’m in awe… A tear in my eye and joy in my heart.

    PS: You know I’m stoppin’ by 🙂

  4. Three dames,
    Oh, please do stop by.
    My blog, my town, whatever.
    😉

  5. Karen…
    Just got in from a workshop that was all about creating your ideal scene..and there you were our first interview..thank you for coming on board and sharing your consciousness.
    Light ahead
    Belle

  6. Wow – I already knew I loved Karen Zipdrive, now I love her more.

  7. It’s very enlightening to be asked to answer probing questions like these.
    I cannot wait to read the replies of other women.
    You three are doing a great service to women by thinking up this project.
    I feel honored to have been included.
    Thank you again.

  8. I love KZ and have been reading her wonderful blog for years now. No one is as spunky, funny and direct as Karen Zipdrive…no one.

    Great interview woman! 😉

  9. Love it, Karen! It’s really interesting how many people leave corporate life to do something more entrepreneurial and fun. And I love the description of being a woman.

Leave a Reply

